Secretary’s International Women of Courage Award and Exchange Program


Established in 2007, the annual Secretary of State's International Women of Courage Award honors women around the globe who have exemplified exceptional courage and leadership in advocating for human rights, women’s equality, and social progress, often at great personal risk. This is the only Department of State award that pays tribute to emerging women leaders worldwide.

In addition to the ceremony, the awardees participate in an IVLP exchange program to meet with U.S. counterparts and leaders in a number of cities and experience America firsthand.

To get updates and join the conversation use #WomenOfCourage or visit

Program Length

3 Weeks

Eligibility and Application Overview

There is no application for the Secretary’s International Women of Courage Award and exchange program. Participants are nominated annually by the staff at U.S. Embassies around the world.

Recently Viewed Programs


Search our Exchange Programs

Full Program Search

Economic Impact in U.S.A.

state map

Find out the impact of ECA exchange programs and initiatives in each U.S. state.

Learn more