Critical Language Enhancement Award

Photo of woman in blue scarf

Eligibility & Application

Program Eligibility Details

Eligible Languages:
Arabic (all dialects), Bahasa Indonesia, Bangla/Bengali, Chinese (Mandarin only), Gujarati, Hindi, Marathi, Punjabi, Russian, and Urdu.

Eligible Countries:
China, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Jordan, Morocco, Russia

The number of eligible countries and languages supported by the CLEA is subject to change based on future budget allocations and U.S. Department of State priorities.

Ineligibility Criteria:

  • Have not been selected for a Fulbright Full Grant (or ETA, in some cases) in an eligible country.
  • Receipt of a Critical Language Scholarship also sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, and administered by the Council of American Overseas Research Centers (CAORC) and American Councils for International Education, in the same program year.

Additional information about eligibility can be found on the Fulbright U.S. Student website.

Program Application Details

Additional information about the application process can be found on the Fulbright U.S. Student website.

Recently Viewed Programs


Search our Exchange Programs

Full Program Search

Economic Impact in U.S.A.

state map

Find out the impact of ECA exchange programs and initiatives in each U.S. state.

Learn more